These 38 States Don’t Tax Your Social Security Benefits

Photo by Ivan Marc from Shutterstock

Although some U.S. states tax Social Security benefits, that’s not the case of the ones we are about to reveal in this article. If you’re lucky enough to live in one of these states, you’ll most likely enjoy all your retirement income.

Thirteen states do tax Social Security benefits. Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, and West Virginia tax up to 85 percent of your benefits, based on your income.

You might want to think about relocating if you’re living in one of these states. Even if our list of 37 states plus the District of Columbia doesn’t tax your Social Security benefits, some of them take a big bite out of other types of income.

All things considered, it’s best to move to one of these states than to spend your golden years financially broke in Connecticut, let’s say.

1 2 ... 28NEXT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

related posts
from our network